What are the types of Saffron in the World?

What are the types of Saffron in the World?

There are four main classifications of saffron, based on the shade of the saffron threads.


To find the best types of saffron, you first need to know the types and what the difference is between each type.


Saffron is the stigma of the Crocus sativus flower.

A flower has only 3 stigmas (called saffron threads). Usually the stigma of saffron is plucked from the flower and dried thoroughly. After the drying process, the threads are cut and separated into different types.

Types of Saffron: 

Super Negin

Best of all, this premium quality saffron does not contain the yellow/orange part of the stem. This is the best type of saffron as it has good length of threads and is red in color throughout. So that you get maximum taste and aroma.


This type of saffron thread has a very small portion of yellow colour. And hence, the concentration level of saffron will be lesser than the previous one.



"flower top" in Persian, Sargol only has red stigma tips. Sargol Kesar often has broken threads.


This is the cheapest type and contains a lot of "no value" orange/yellow parts. Many distributors take advantage of consumers by selling the orange and yellow portion of the yarn to increase their profit margin.


Overall, Persian saffron will almost always be of high quality, as long as it is purchased through a reputable and reliable source. Iran will maintain its reputation for high quality saffron due to its highly suitable characteristics such as climate, topography, soil and organic harvesting methods.


Choosing any of these types of Persian saffron is a smart choice, but for those looking for the best of the best, Super Negin is the most expensive and rarest form of saffron. It is also the highest quality saffron available in the market.

Back to blog